Critical Trilogy

a critic's millennial journey

SOLSTICE CEREMONY

Winter Solstice 2009: December 21, 12:47 EST

I was actually in the subway at the moment of the Winter Solstice, in transit from seeing Richard Humann in WIlliamsburg to the Spring Street apartment of Susanna Cuyler, who was having her annual Winter Solstice Gathering.

“Oh hell!” I was thinking, “Underground was not where I wanted to be at the Return of the Sun!”  Then, I looked at the poster and saw the words “Becoming Human.”  It was a poster for a History special!

So, this was all too fitting.  A balanced “Above/Under Ground Winter Solstice” where I sold my very first copy of Kundalni’s Daughter, to Susanna.

Winter Solstice 2010: Persephone Returns Rises From Underground

Aaron Olshan reading about himself in "Kundalini's Daughter"

The book was successfully launched at Susan Cuyler’s Winter Solstice celebration at her Mulberry Street apartment.  I lit five candles in the shape of a pentagram surrounding a black and white egg from Tara (representing New Beginnings) and three Narcissus bulbs.  I then evoked the intention for the year and read the section of the book on Winter Solstice 2000, before Aaron Olshan, who naturally, insisted I have bare feet!

December 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. [...] was creating as I went through the breakdown in her apartment, the very spot where I initiated my Winter Solstice book launch in an obscure, sparsely attended, reading with Susanna and my most rapt reader, Aaron.  This full [...]

    Pingback by PAN « Critical Trilogy | November 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I’m hoping to
    see the same high-grade content from you later on as well.

    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me
    to get my own, personal blog now ;)

    Comment by virtual offices in connecticut | June 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

